Pasem 1,000km Challenge 1st Edition – the winners’ perspective

The 1st edition of Pasem 1000km challenge just ended at the stroke of midnight of 27 Feb 2017.  What a journey it has been for all the finishers.  The results are out and hurray to the joyful and relieved winners in our team, Sandy Woo (fastest woman finisher), Madam Eng (second fastest woman finisher and highest woman’s mileage), Alicia Chia (second highest women’s mileage), Kenny Wong (highest mileage).  I am well aware of the sacrifices that they have to make for this amazing achievement, and that it is not as near in your wildest imagination that you think if it is easy feat let alone balancing your life while doing this everyday for 6 months or 177 days non-stop.  (you can refer to my story of this challenge at this link).

A big congratulations is in order, and what an amazing and fantastic job they have done.  Either for the result or personal life, I’m sure they have more gains than deficits.  When most of the finisher will either stop or slow down the running routine, these runners chose to kept on running.  I guess the challenge had manage to fuse the habit of running into their daily life.  They say it will take 21 days to form a habit, imagine what a 177 days would do to people.  But what  I am more interested is how do they do it?  Let’s get to know them a little closer and hopefully we are able to draw some inspiration from them with their super human effort.

1kc-results
1K challenge results

These are what they have to say about this challenge.  Let’s get close and personal:

Kenny Wong Weng Hoong | Winner of highest Mileage (male) & Highest Team Points

kenny-wong
Kenny Wong

What makes you join this challenge in the first place?

I’d joined because of the moonlight group runners. People like Jason Ng  and Sandy Woo keep on encourage me. I also like to thanks Sandy for helping me to register. If not I won’t become champion for the farthest distance

When did you first pick up running (what age) and what inspired you to do so?

My name is Kenny Wong, started running at the age of 28. When I join a group of runners we call ourselves Seremban lake joggers. Only this period I train seriously for my running activities for the HM, FM and Ironman. We were luck we have some state runners and national runner in our group

Before this challenge, have you ever in doubt that you can even archive this feats and how frequent do you run in a week?

Before I sign up the challenge I ran three times a week, about 7-8 km and Sunday only join LSD for longer distances cover 21 km

How has this challenge improved your life, in any aspect?

During this challenge I have learned  how to commit  and work out plan how to success. And keep me fresh trough out the day

How do you stay motivated when you don’t want to run?

I always aim at the top runners result  for motivation  why people can do. And also our 1KC WhatsApp group with so many chat and good friends encourage each other when we have bad day

What are your goals in the near future?

With this challenge over I’m a much fitter person from  70 kg down to 66 kg. I have more strength and endurance to participate for FM and may be future ultra.

Sandy Woo Hooi Choon | Winner of Fastest finisher (female)

Sandy Woo
Sandy Woo

whatsapp-image-2017-03-01-at-12-48-14-pm

How would you introduce yourself to the running community?

I have a thing for running though I’m a late bloomer to the running world.  Running just completes me both physically and socially.  I consider myself a private person and don’t talk much.  I prefer to let my running do the talking.

When did you first pick up running (what age) and what inspired you to do so?

I’d started running around age of 40. My objective is to be able to eat more and slim down at the same time. or at least maintain the ideal body figure and shape (yes, I’m greedy – so is all women).

Before this challenge, have you ever in doubt that you can even archive this feats?

I don’t have any strategy nor did I gave much thought to the challenge.  I leave it to my husband, Jason, to plan it all.  Jason is my chief strategist and would give me a stir if I’m not at par or not feel like doing the mileage on a certain day 😬.  But that doesn’t mean I’m weak.  I would like to consider myself as a competitive person…especially on the last 100km, you should see how i slave the mileage even in raining weather on slippery roads.

How frequent do you run in a week?

Three times a week.  If work caught up, I would double the distance to make it up.

How has this challenge improved your life, in any aspect?

This challenge suits my competitive character.  My motto for life is “Nothing is impossible and never say never”.

How do you stay motivated when you don’t want to run?

My weight and my body lines 😂.  It is a women thing.  On a serious note, the finishing date and time is my main motivator.

How do you balance your family time and 1KC time?

I have a running routine of twice a day – early morning and late evening.  I will attend to my family and business in between those times. But as day progresses, my activities double, I ran everyday, twice a day, sometimes thrice.

What are your goals in the near future?

To go all out to archive Personal Best (PB) for every race I join in future.

Madam Eng Bee Ting | Winner of highest Mileage (female) & Second Fastest finisher (female)

whatsapp-image-2017-02-28-at-9-58-09-pm
Madam Eng

whatsapp-image-2017-02-28-at-9-58-59-pm

How would you introduce yourself to the running community?

I am a career women all these while.  Means that work comes before me and I’m providing for my home.  I have 3 lovely daughters and a wonderful husband who supports me in every way.

When did you first pick up running (what age) and what inspired you to do so?

I started running at the age of 45 years old (don’t ask my age, it is rude to ask for a woman’s age – just joking).  I am what they called a recreational runner who runs for leisure.  Weight lost and control has always my main objective for picking up this sports.  So when the 1KC came, I’d register at the first opportunity – yes, for the purpose of losing my weight.

Before this challenge, have you ever in doubt that you can even archive this feats?

To be frank, I never knew much about the required distance.  All I knew was to complete the required daily minimum of 6km.  Gradually as the challenge progresses, I grew to like it.  It somehow bonded and fused into my daily life.  That could be the reason I kept on running even after I’d archived the 1000km.

How frequent do you run in a week?

I run alternative day.  If work caught up, I would double the distance to make it up.

How has this challenge improved your life, in any aspect?

The gain was much more than I could asked for.  My weight went down to the level that I wish for all these while, and I am able to control my weight and feel more healthy. (again don’t ask about a woman’s weight – same reason as the age factor)

How do you stay motivated when you don’t want to run?

All I think of was to reach my ideal weight.  Looking at those clothes that I can fit in again just motivates me to kept going.

How do you balance your family time and 1KC time?

After my house work and attended for my family, I would head out and do my running.  I am very lucky to have the support of my family to do this.

What are your goals in the near future?

Continue running.  It is part of my life now.

Alicia Chia Lai Hoong | Winner of the Second Highest Mileage (female)

whatsapp-image-2017-03-01-at-2-57-09-pm
Captain Alicia

whatsapp-image-2017-03-01-at-2-57-14-pm

How would you introduce yourself to the running community?

Hi ! My name is Alicia, I’m a full-time housewife since year 2005 (Need to be a responsible mother 😁) and I’m staying in Subang Jaya.

When did you first pick up running (what age) and what inspired you to do so?

Actually I’m a running lover, use to run while studying …… stop when start working. Picking up running again is on 22/11/2014 (10km – Larian Gegar Neon).

Before this challenge, have you ever in doubt that you can even archive this feats?

Before this 1k challenge, I’ll never think of can complete 1k running/walking in 2 months time (so terror 😱 unbelievable) !
.

How frequent do you run in a week?

During the 1k challenge, been running/walking almost everyday. After completed, still keep going run and walk everyday. (but not so terror that can run and walk 30 ++ km per day during last week of 1k challenge 😥).

How has this challenge improved your life, in any aspect?

After this challenge, I feel more energetic and fit.

How do you stay motivated when you don’t want to run?

I always motivate myself to run so that got more quota to eat more good food ! 😂 and also think of exercise can get healthy, beauty and colourful life !

How do you balance your family time and 1KC time?

Hahaha …. I always go run early in the morning, before my hubby and kids wake-up !  After running, will go breakfast and enjoy family time with them ! PERFECT ! 😅.

What are your goals in the near future?

My goal is to complete my coming full marathon ….. my 1st marathon ! 🤣.

See you in the next 1K Challenge  😅

Leave a Reply

