Hoe Say Liaw – 7Apr2017

TGIF, it is Friday end of the work week. What a nice timing and auspicious way to do a workout called Hoe Say Liaw, to end the working week.

You should know the drill of this routine by now.  Yes, it is 5 sets of workout with 4 reps each set.

Hoe Say Liaw’s recipe:

wp-1491566130454.
Today’s menu

Set A x 4 reps:

  • Push Up x 10
  • Squat x 10

Set B x 4 reps:

  • Sit up x 10
  • Jumping Squat x 10

Set C x 4 reps:

  • Wide Grip Push Up x 10
  • Jack Knife x 10
  • Burpees + Jump forward x 10

Set D x 4 reps:

  • Pike Push Up x 10
  • Lunge x 10

Set E x 4 reps:

  • Hindu Push Up x 10
  • Box Jump x 10
  • Bicycle x 20

Training is a very funny thing.  It plays trick to your mind.  I used to hate sit up as I’m used to say that it is my nemesis.  Well, I’m actually looking forward for it nowadays.  I mean I can actually lift my upper body to touch the toe easier now compared to my first SEDEF training.  It gets easier if you are not scared of it.

There’s this tale that when I was in my teens, my auntie brought me to this shop lot gym in Taman Berkeley.  This instructor was huge (body building muscle man).  The size of his arm alone is bigger than both my thighs combined.  I was struggling doing the sit-up and he told me that I’m not strong enough, needs more practice….Then a couple of weeks later I heard he died of a heart failure.  Oh man, this image stucked in my mind for a long time.  Probably my mind associate sit up to not strong to heart attack…Maybe, I don’t know.

There’s a workshop at the end of the workout.  Coach is demonstrating the correct way of doing Burpees.  What a timely advise, as that method safes a lot of energy.  Checkout the video here.

This is the wisdom from Josephine 师姐

SEDEF workout keeps telling us that you don’t need a gym membership to have a awesome workout.

The fancy equipment can be replaced by your own body weight; the cozy environment by outdoor fresh air; the steam bath, sauna and other high end facilities by the friendships and bonds among your workout buddies.

I actually used the above same line to invite one of my friend.  She is very interested to join. but she has since “aeroplaned” me for 3 times so far.  If you are reading this, SEDEF is still waiting for you with open arms.

See you at the next SEDEF training.

Leave a Reply

